Posts Tagged ‘The Lackloves’

Von Soulstice

June 19, 2009
photo by John Nikolai

photo by John Nikolai

The band that pissed off Jack White will be headlining Milwaukee’s Summer Soulstice Festival on Saturday. Von Bondies singer/guitarist Jason Stollsteimer’s famous altercation with the Stripes’ frontman back in 2003 might have gotten the band more fame than his music, but the Detroit foursome’s single “C’mon C’mon” gave the power chord loving garage group enough staying power since its release in 2004 to gain a solid fan base. Their newly-made lineup and five-years-in-the-making, characteristically raucous new release Love, Hate and Then There’s You shows the band hasn’t been quite as reclusive as the press would have it. They make the trip across the pond of Michigan to tear up North Avenue’s summer block party at the West stage in a battle for the time slots with Milwaukee’s pop darlings Fever Marlene who position themselves on the East stage. Who would win in a bar brawl?

2009 Summer Soulstice lineup @ E. North Avenue, between Prospect/Oakland

East stage:

2:30 p.m. 2nd Thought

4:00 p.m. The Buskers

5:30 p.m. Juniper Tar

7:30 p.m. Ike Reilly Assassination

9:30 p.m. Fever Marlene

West stage:

3:00 p.m. Jake Jendusa & the Dead Men

4:30 p.m. Loose Cannons

6:00 p.m. The Lackloves

8:00 p.m. Invade Rome

9:30 p.m. The Von Bondies



RadioMilwaukee Music Awards Winners: A quick digest

February 27, 2009


The soul-funk ensemble Kings Go Forth cleaned house at the RadioMilwaukee Second Annual Music Awards last night, taking home FIVE awards. Here’s a complete list:

Artist of the Year – Kings Go Forth (Listener Choice Award)
Song of the Year – “One Day,” Kings Go Forth
Album of the Year – “Cathedral Square Park,” The Lackloves
Vocalist of the Year – Mark Waldoch, The Celebrated Workingman
Best New Artist – Kings Go Forth
TNT Award (Artist Most Likely to Blow Up) – Kings Go Forth
Club DJ of the YearKid Cut Up (Listener Choice Award)
Earwig Award (Catchiest Song) – “Foundation,” The Rusty P’s
Power “Poptart” Award (Power Pop Song of the Year) – “Latest Flame,” Quinn Scharber and the…
Dance Track of the Year – “Fire,” Codebreaker
“414 Music” Award (Best In-Studio Performance) – Stealin’ Strings
Memorable Concert of the YearKings Go Forth at Bay View Bash (Listener Choice Award)
Album Artwork of the Year – “Esque,” The Rip Off Artists
The 88Nine Award For Music & Community Service – Figureheads

Here’s a digest of what folks are saying … (more…)