The Magnetic Fields: The first great Pabst show of 2010?

Words by DJ Hostettler

People who know me well know that I have, well, a bit of an issue with what I tend to consider wussy, limp-dicked (people who know me well also know I use that adjective too much) indie-pop, particularly the type that seems to be delivered by crooning, sensitive boys with acoustic guitars and mountain man beards. It bothers me so much that I nearly squealed like a little girl in my chair at work when I was alerted to this amazing essay by Sleater-Kinney’s Carrie Brownstein. Her assertion that “What we need is more contemporary rock music that addresses or mirrors the chaos, the gray areas and the uneasiness. Just go listen to The Stooges or Bikini Kill for a second to remember what that sounds like” made my day.

So with that in mind, it sometimes surprises people to learn that I absolutely adore The Magnetic Fields. Stephin Merritt is a little something of a pop genius, able to weave sometimes dark, sometimes hilarious, and sometimes aching (often all at once) lyrics around the genre of his choosing. And while last year’s Distortion isn’t widely seen as one of their best, I’m one of its supporters (“California Girls” is a jam, y’all). Soul-bearing pop music can be transcendental when it’s done right–look no further than the epic three-disc triumph 69 Love Songs for proof.

So you’re damn right I’ll be grabbing tickets to the just announced March 4, 2010 Magnetic Fields show at the Pabst Theater as soon as I can. The band will be in support of the forthcoming Realism, the third album in the Fields’ “no synth” trilogy. Wait, sensitive pop nuggets built on ordinary guitars and other acoustic instruments? Are these guys sure they don’t have beards?

Tickets go on sale Friday (or today, depending on when you’re reading this) at noon, so here’s hoping it doesn’t sell out, because I don’t get paid again until the end of the month. Buy ’em here!

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “The Magnetic Fields: The first great Pabst show of 2010?”

  1. Erin Petersen Says:

    Bought mine today!

  2. Chris Van Gompel Says:

    you will have to burn me some M Fields as I don’t get it at all…

Leave a Reply

