Jeez, St. Vincent, weren’t you just here?

Photo coutesy Whitley Strieber's "Communion"

Photo Courtesy Whitley Streiber's "Communion"

Words by DJ Hostettler

Annie Clark, aka the creepily photogenic St. Vincent, recently shared the stage with Andrew Bird at the Pabst Theater, and before that, had the spotlight to herself at a show back in June. Apparently that wasn’t enough Milwaukee for the guitar heroine, because today she announced a headlining show at Turner Hall for February 17 of next year. This girl is a touring machine!

I personally haven’t climbed aboard the St. Vincent bandwagon quite yet; I listened to her latest release, Actor, and thought, “eh, this is OK,” but haven’t gone back. However, in the interest of fair and balanced reporting, it should be noted that several of my friends who have excellent taste in music have insisted that I am completely out of my tree, and that I’ll see sense once I experience the live show. With that in mind, you’ll likely be able to find me at Turner Hall on Feb. 17, satisfying my curiosity about this virtuoso, whom I swear one of my friends referred to as “like if Steve Vai were super experimental, a girl, and didn’t completely suck.” I may have imagined that, though.

Tickets go on sale this Friday, Nov. 13 at noon! Grab ’em at the Turner Hall website.

Tags: ,

One Response to “Jeez, St. Vincent, weren’t you just here?”

  1. Yale Says:

    I don’t get her either, I guess it seems to be a live thing.

Leave a Reply

